Sena Eken Schieber was born in İstanbul in 1949. After graduating from Robert College in Türkiye, she did her graduate studies in England and received her Ph.D. in economics from the University of Pittsburgh. She married George Schieber in 1976. Sena had a long and distinguished career in the International Monetary Fund (IMF), during which she took a leave of absence to be an Advisor to the Governor of the Central Bank of Turkey in 1987. She has worked on IMF programs in numerous countries, many in the Middle East, Asia, and Africa, and at the time of her retirement, was the highest-ranking Turkish national in the IMF.  She is the author of numerous publications, including the recently published DEIK study entitled “Türkiye 2000-2010: A Decade of Transition.” She has been described by her colleagues and friends as loving, caring, vibrant, sensitive, elegant, smart, conscientious, warm, and courageous; a role model for others; a pioneer for women in the IMF; and a credit to her country. In addition to being an accomplished international and national civil servant, Sena was a talented photographer and actively pursued her interests in fitness, travel, art, fashion, Turkish politics, maintaining her Robert college connections, and socializing with friends.

Watch past year’s informational webinars on the application process and the award here.


Sena Eken Schieber Economics Award grants scholarships to women from Türkiye, who are admitted to graduate programs for a Masters’s or Ph.D. degree in Economics at an accredited school in the United States. The scholarship is given in memory of Sena Eken Schieber. Several awards will be made annually to cover tuition and/or living expenses with the condition that the university will also offer the scholarship recipient additional support and the opportunity to work on campus. Students who do not receive matching funds from their schools will be considered on a case-by-case basis by the scholarship committee. The scholarship may be renewed for a second year for Masters’s programs.

Eligibility Criteria:  Applicant must be a woman and citizen of Türkiye who:

  • Has completed her undergraduate studies at a university in Türkiye
  • Is accepted to an Economics program at the Graduate level to an accredited university in the United States (see list of designated universities)
  • Will be a full-time student taking a minimum of 12 hours each semester unless fewer hours are needed to graduate
  • Can demonstrate financial need


Scholarship Amount:  The scholarship is for 1 year only. Master students can reapply to receive funding for their 2nd year of study. The renewal decision will be made upon the review of the application and the student’s good standing in the 1st academic year of the program.


  • Binghamton University—SUNY Binghamton, Department of Economics
  • Brown University
  • California Institute of Technology
  • Carnegie Mellon University (Tepper)
  • Columbia University, Department of Economics
  • Columbia University Business School
  • Cornell University
  • Duke University, Department of Economics
  • Georgetown University, Department of Economics
  • George Washington University, Department of Economics
  • Harvard University, Department of Economics
  • Indiana University, Department of Economics
  • Johns Hopkins University, Department of Economics
  • New York University
  • Northwestern University
  • Princeton University
  • Stanford University
  • Syracuse University, Department of Economics
  • University of Chicago
  • University of Minnesota–Twin Cities
  • University of Michigan–Ann Arbor
  • University of Wisconsin–Madison
  • University of California–Los Angeles
  • University of California–San Diego
  • University of California—Berkeley, Department of Economics
  • University of Connecticut
  • University of Delaware
  • Wellesley College
  • Bucknell University
  • Wake Forest
  • Tulane University
  • George Mason University
  • University of Massachusetts – Amherst
  • Northeastern University
  • Fordham University
  • American University
  • Lafayette College
  • Michigan State University
  • Colorado College
  • Emory College
  • Pomona College
  • Colgate University
  • Tufts University
  • Bates College
  • Wesleyan University
  • Villanova University
  • Richmond University
  • Smith College
  • Franklin Marshall University
  • Purdue University
  • University of Miami
  • Wheaton College- Mass
  • University of Maryland–College Park, Department of Economics
  • University of North Carolina–Chapel Hill, Department of Economics
  • University of Pittsburgh, Department of Economics
  • University of Chicago
  • Yale University
  • Boston University
  • Boston College
  • University of Rochester
  • Pennsylvania State University
  • Rice University
  • Michigan State University
  • University of Virginia
  • Vanderbilt University
  • University of Notre Dame
  • Georgia State University
  • University of Illinois
  • University of Southern California
  • Texas A&M University
  • Rutgers State University of NJ
  • University of Washington
  • Ohio State University
  • University of Texas
  • University of California – Davis
  • University of Florida
  • University of Colorado
  • Clemson University
  • Clark University
  • Florida State University
  • Santa Clara University
  • University of Denver
  • Utah University
  • St. Lawrence University
  • University of Iowa
  • University of Tennessee
  • University of San Francisco
  • University of Oregon
  • University of Vermont
  • Colorado State University
  • Vassar College

Other accredited universities not on this list, can be considered on a case by case basis if they are willing to adhere to TPFs participation rules.


All applicants must apply online with the admission decision letter received from the university, and all applications must be submitted by March 3rd, 2025 by 5 PM EST. Full disclosure on all scholarships received (US and other schools) as well as all graduate schools applied to are required. Any negligence in providing full information will be a reason for disqualification. Late or incomplete applications cannot be considered. Applicants should note that financial need is an important determinant in the decision of the committee.

A Selection Committee, consisting of five members, evaluates all applications. The Committee members conduct interviews with finalists in person or via teleconferencing.

Application Requirements: All applicants must provide the following as part of their award application:

  • Fully filled out the application form
  • Passport or National ID as proof of nationality
  • A personal statement with attestation to the applicant’s financial need
  • Resume
  • Official academic transcript(s) from the undergraduate/graduate college
  • Admission Decision Letter from one of the above-designated university(ies) showing acceptance to the school*
  • TOEFL/IELTS and GRE scores
  • At least three references

*if you haven’t received the school’s admission letter by the time of the application deadline, please upload the proof of your application and note that you are still waiting to hear back from the schools.

If you have any questions, please contact TPF Institutional Partnerships Lead here.